Basil Ice-cream

Image

Now don’t knock this until you try it!!!! It is really yummy and refreshing.

I first came across this recipe in one of my Delicious Magazines (one of the many cooking mags I subscribe too)(http://www.taste.com.au/delicious/). And since then I have come across various takes on the recipe. Another I like is Strawberry and Basil, which is great when strawberry picking season is on (October to May in Adelaide). Hubby and I pack the kids in the car and make the short drive out to Harhndorf, in the Adelaide Hills, to the Beerenberg Farm (http://www.beerenberg.com.au) to pick strawberries (a great family activity).

At the moment I have basil growing strongly in my garden and want to make the most of it before the season ends.

My Mum and Dad are staying with us at the moment and this is one of my Dads favourite Ice-creams, and well as for the kids they like anything ice-cream 😉

Image

Recipe:

Large bunch fresh picked basil leaves
500g caster suger
250g mascarpone cheese ( I have also substituted cream here and it works just as well)
1.25kg greek yoghurt ( I make my own yoghurt and it works beautifully in this recipe, this will be a future blog)

Place caster sugar and basil into a food processor and process until forms a course powder.
Add mascarpone cheese and yoghurt then pulse until combined.
Place into icecream machine and churn as per machine instructions.

NB: Home made icecream is best eaten in the first couple of days, and if your place is anything like mine your lucky if it lasts that long………
And always leave to soften for 20 minutes before serving.

Image

What interesting flavour ice-creams have you made?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Basil Ice-cream

  1. Jenny's Ramblings March 8, 2013 at 7:01 pm Reply

    Yes this is one of my all time favorites

  2. scrapebox proxies March 22, 2013 at 9:08 pm Reply

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today.. scrapebox proxies http://scrapebox.overblog.com/

    • kristapriest March 29, 2013 at 5:04 pm Reply

      Thanks so much for your kind words its nice to get some positive feedback being my first attempt at blogging. This weblog is a freebie I just modified it to suit, I’m quite pleased with Word press.

  3. The High Heel Gourmet April 20, 2013 at 1:48 pm Reply

    Cool blog! I need advise on growing the Basil…mine aren’t that healthy and was ruined even more buy the slugs or snails (sobbing) how to grow good basil? I need a lot for my Thai cooking.

    • kristapriest April 20, 2013 at 3:48 pm Reply

      I don’t do anything special to grow my basil I just plant, water and fertilise. It grows really well here in Adelaide so I guess I’m just lucky. I do fertilise once a fortnight with a liquid fertiliser, I use Seasol I really like it. As far as slugs/ snails go I didn’t have a problem with my basil, but they really liked my mint and besides snail pellets which I don’t like using my battle continues 😦 I have been told soapy water is good for killing bugs and slugs so I’am going to give this a try, fingers crossed it works 🙂

      • Kylie Walters June 22, 2013 at 10:27 am

        Hi Krista, you are a Wonder Woman! Another idea for the slugs is a bowl of beer half buried in the ground, apparently they love the smell more than the plants, fall in a drown.

  4. The High Heel Gourmet April 20, 2013 at 7:41 pm Reply

    I’ve heard about soap too. I used the one pre-mixed in the bottle (quite expensive $8 from Wholefoods). It worked about a week max. I guess I have to keep doing it every week but I didn’t. I probably traveled or busy so when I got back to it, again, slugs ate my basil AGAIN! I’m closer to the beach too, people said that my soil is bad 😦 ughhhhhhh…

Leave a Reply

