Hot Cross Buns

Image

Well its that time of the Year again!!!! it comes around so quickly, you just start to recover from Christmas, and with the blink of an eye it’s Easter. But what could be a better excuse for some Baking. As a child I loved hot cross buns I couldn’t get my fill of them. But these days they don’t seem to taste the same, either they are made differently or my taste has changed but I regularly find shop brought hot cross buns heavy and doughy. So this year I thought I’d have an attempt at making my own.

Recently I was at my local farmers market at the Adelaide show ground and I saw these gorgeous Hot Cross Buns baked in little terra cotta pots, I thought it was a fantastic idea and that they would make great little Easter gifts.I went down to my local shops I couldn’t find any terra cotta pots, so instead of driving across town I got these gorgeous little blue tubs which I thought would work just as well.

For my first attempt I don’t think they turned out too bad they ended up being quite a large serving so you could possibly try using a smaller container, but if your like me you will happily eat a large one ๐Ÿ™‚

ImageImage

RECIPE:

  • 1 tablespoon dried yeast
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 185ml warm milk
  • 125ml cold milk
  • 50g melted butter
  • 1 egg lightly beaten
  • 525g plain flour
  • 130g sultanas
  • 50g currants
  • 20g mixed peel
  • 2 teaspoon mixed spice
  • a pinch of salt
  • 75g plain flour
  • 160ml water
  • 2 tablespoons sugar

To make dough:
Whisk yeast,sugar and warm milk in a jug and let sit for 10 minutes or until frothy. Whisk in cold milk, butter and egg.

Combine flour, mixed spice, salt, dried fruit and mixed peel in a bowl. Make a well in the the centre then add yeast mixture. Use a wooden spoon and stir until combined, then use hands to bring dough together in the bowl. Turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead for 10-15 minutes. Alternatively place in mixing bowl and use dough hook attachment. Place in a lightly greased bowl, cover with plastic wrap, set aside to prove for 90 minutes or until doubled in size.

Shape the buns:
Punch down the centre of the dough with your fist. Then knead on a lightly floured surface for 2 minutes. Divide dough into even portions, this obviously will depend on the size of container you are baking in. I measured the first one to fit allowing room for rising, I then weighed it on my scales and then measured the remainder ย the same.

Brush inside of container liberally with melted butter, then place measured dough balls inside. Cover with a clean tea towel and set aside for 30 minutes to double in size.

Bake and Decorate:
Preheat Oven to 200 degrees. Combine flour and water to make a paste. Place in a plastic bag with corner cut out or a piping bag. Pipe crosses onto buns. Bake for 10 minutes , reduce oven temperature to 160 degrees and bake for a further 20 minutes or until golden and cooked through. Meanwhile place sugar and water into a small saucepan over low heat until sugar dissolves. simmer until the glaze thickens. When buns are cooked remove from oven and brush tops with the glaze, set aside to cool slightly. Then ENJOY.Image

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Hot Cross Buns

  1. Jenny March 30, 2013 at 7:11 pm Reply

    love the idea of the little pots and am sure they tasted delicious

  2. Judy April 3, 2013 at 12:23 pm Reply

    Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long)
    so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your
    blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any helpful hints for beginner blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

    • kristapriest April 3, 2013 at 7:33 pm Reply

      Hi Judy thanks for the feedback ๐Ÿ™‚ At the moment I feel I am pretty much feeling my way around blind,as I have just begun blogging myself. It is a whole new world to me, and I feel I gain more confidence with each blog. For me looking at other people’s blogs really helps and inspires me,I also think good photography (which I’m still working on ) and just being yourself when you write are important. I hope that helps a little and thanks again for the positive feedback

Leave a Reply

