I scream you scream we all scream Vietnamese Coffee ICE CREAM!!!!

Image

This is not a recipe of my own making, I came across this in a blog I like to read called Not quite Nigella( http://www.notquitenigella.com), which is a good read.

I love Vietnamese coffee (hot or cold), and when I came across this recipe I wondered to myself why I had never thought to turn this amazing sweet coffee into ice cream. I’ve made coffee ice cream before which has been successful , but this is a winner!!!!. I love the sweet  creaminess of the condensed milk balanced out with the slightly bitter coffee.

I love making ice cream but have to admit I rarely eat it, I usually have a taste then dish it up for hubby and kids. But in this instance I couldn’t help myself after taking the photos for this blog, I couldn’t possibly put it back in the freezer, lets just say that it wasn’t the healthiest  lunch that day 🙂 (maybe an extra walk for me this week).

This batch of ice cream didn’t last very long (at the hands of my family) so next time I make it, I will double the mix. When the kids sat up to their first bowl they all exclaimed “this is the best ice cream you have ever made” bless their little hearts I am pretty certain they say this every time I make a batch of ice cream, but on this occasion I think I have to agree with them.

Image

RECIPE:

  • 180ml Vietnamese or expresso coffee (3 shots)
  • 200ml sweetened condensed milk
  • 400ml pure cream ( I used thickened cream that whisked till soft peaks formed)
  1. Whisk coffee together with the condensed milk
  2. then whisk in cream
  3. Place in ice cream churn and continue as per machine instructions.

Image

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “I scream you scream we all scream Vietnamese Coffee ICE CREAM!!!!

  1. Jenny's Ramblings April 18, 2013 at 7:39 pm Reply

    This ice cream looks and sounds delicious, put it a the top of the list for our next visit

Leave a Reply

