Sticky lime & ginger chicken

Image

You know those recipes that you continually go back to, the tried and tested ones that please everyone in the family, well  this delicious little gem of a dish has been added to our Family favourites list.

This meal is fast, healthy and full of flavour. I love the limes in this dish and since my Lime tree is fruiting its a perfect match (I’m so excited  about my Lime tree giving its first fruit, as it is two years old and this little tree had a hard start in life). I’m pretty good in the garden and can grow most things but citrus trees and I don’t get along so well. This is my third attempt at growing a lime tree and I had all but given up, I gave it a massive trimming and left it, I completely ignored it, then one day when I was in the back garden I saw that it had little baby shoots on it. Now I didn’t get to excited about this as it has happened before and they all died and fell of :-(. But this lime tree is a survivor and I am very much enjoying my small but home grown crop.

IMG_0904

I used Pak choy as my vegetable in this recipe but really you could use any asian green you fancy. The original recipe asked for gai larn but I couldn’t get my hands on it that day so pak choy it was, I also think it would be nice with a melody of vegetables.

RECIPE:

  • 1/2 Cup (80ml) honey
  • 2 tablespoons  oyster sauce
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 5cm piece (25g) fresh ginger, peeled and finely grated
  • 2 cloves garlic crushed
  • 1/4 cup (60ml water)
  • 2 tablespoons peanut oil
  • 8x125g chicken thigh fillets, trimmed and cut into strips
  • 1 lime thinly sliced
  • 600g asian green of your choice, chopped and blanced
  • shredded green onion and steamed rice to serve

METHOD:

  1. Place honey, oyster sauce, lime juice, ginger, garlic and water in a bowl, mix to combine then set aside
  2. Heat oil in a wok over high heat, add chicken and cook in batches , for 6 minutes or until cooked through
  3. Add honey mixture and lime bring to the boil, cook 2-4 minutes or until slightly thickened.
  4. Arrange asian green onto a plate and top with chicken and green onion
  5. spoon over pan sauce and serve with rice

IMG_0900

Original recipe is from Donna Hay.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

