Persimmon spice cake

Image

I’m back with another delicious persimmon recipe 🙂

This is such a gorgeous fruit and so beautiful to photograph, we are having some stunning Autumn weather  here in Adelaide at the moment so I’ve taken the opportunity to go outside and  take photos of this pretty fruit in my garden. Photographing this exotic fruit is almost as fun as cooking with it.

IMG_0840          IMG_0841

IMG_0839

I really like the flavour in this cake, but I would be more inclined to call it a loaf. It very much reminds me texture wise of a date loaf, (one of my all time favourites).The kids have been having it for dessert served with my persimmon ice cream, but my favourite way to eat is slightly warmed or toasted and spread with butter YUM!!!!. I found this recipe on-line in my of my many google searches ( I don’t know how I survived before google:-p).The flavours just called to me, pairing persimmon with cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and a dash of orange and lemon zest, a match made in heaven.

IMG_0910

RECIPE:

  • 1 1/4 cup persimmon pulp
  • 1 tsp bicarb soda
  • 125g softened butter
  • 220g white sugar
  • 250 plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 tsp orange zest
  • 1/2 tsp lemon zest
  • 1/4 cup icing sugar for dusting

METHOD:

  1. preheat oven to 180ºC
  2. blend persimmon pulp in food processor or blender until smooth 
  3. combine persimmon pulp and bi-carb soda in a small bowl
  4. in a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy
  5. then add persimmon puree to mixture
  6. sift flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves separately
  7. gradually blend the flour mixture into the persimmon mixture
  8. once flour mix has been combined fold through pecan nuts and zest, mixture will be quite stiff
  9. spoon into a greased and lined 20cm cake tin ( i used to smaller loaf tins)
  10. bake for 40-45 minutes, or until skewer comes out clean
  11. cool cake in tin for 10 minutes, then turn out onto rack to continue cooling for another 20-30 minutes
  12. sprinkle with icing sugar and serve warm

IMG_0907

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Persimmon spice cake

  1. Jenny's Ramblings April 23, 2013 at 9:17 pm Reply

    Kris your photography is stunning

    • kristapriest April 23, 2013 at 9:18 pm Reply

      Thanks I’ve really been working on it 🙂

  2. Shannon McCormick August 8, 2013 at 7:44 am Reply

    This looks delicious. My favorite spice cake is actually a Crumb Cake spice cake and it comes from http://www.crumbcakecreations.com ….simply outstanding.

Leave a Reply

