Hungarian custard kreme slice

Image

I have been a very lucky girl this week, my gorgeous family gave me an early Mothers Day present and I love it!!!!!!!! I can finally retire my not so good/ up to standard sunbean mix master. I am now the proud owner of the BOSCO multifunction stand mixer :-).

Image

I love it!, it comes with all the bells and whistles mincer, sausage maker , blender, grinder, dough hooks, whisk, beaters, pasta making accessories, cookie extruder, six litre bowl capacity and power of 1200-1400 Watts. I can see that the BOSCO ( I think I will call this BOS for short) and I are going to have lots of fun together in the kitchen.

So the first thing I have made with ‘BOS’ is this amazing Hungarian custard kreme slice. I came across the recipe on a blog by Zsuzsa( http://www.zsuzasisinthekitchen.blogspot.com.au). Now I don’t know how many times I have had a terrible custard slice, they all tend to be heavy, thick, dense custards with that artificial yellow colour, tasting of either corn flour or set too firm with gelatine, really like a mouthful of glue. I was almost beginning to think that maybe I just didn’t like custard slice. Then I came across this recipe (which apparently was several years in the making) the picture drew me in and I just had to make it, and I’m so glad I did. It is nothing at all like those horrible glue-like custard slices I have had before, it is light, delicate, sweet (but not too sweet), its like eating a little slice of heaven.

.Image

RECIPE:

VANILLA INFUSED MILK:
2 cups milk
1 vanilla pod

FLAKY PASTRY :
1-1/2 cup + 1 Tbsp flour
3/4 cup chilled hard margarine
1 pinch of salt
4 Tbsp cold water
4 tsp vinegar

CUSTARD LAYER:
8 egg yolks
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup + 1Tbsp flour
2 pkg. or 2 Tbsp real vanilla sugar
3 pkg. gelatine [21 g]
1/4 cup unsalted butter
8 egg whites
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp fresh lemon juice
candy thermometer is essential

TOPPING:
1/4 cup icing sugar

• Make the vanilla infused milk first.
• Heat the milk in a saucepan.
• Scrape the seeds from the vanilla bean into the milk with a paring knife, and add the bean pod to the milk.
• Cover, remove from heat, and infuse for one hour.
• Next make the flaky pastry.

• In a large bowl crumble the flour and the chilled margarine to fine crumbs.
• Mix in the salt.
• Place the cold water and the vinegar in a small dish.
• Pour the liquid over the pastry crumbs.
• Stir to combine and gradually form a rough ball.
• Generously flour a board and roll out the pastry into a thin rectangle.
• Roll up the pastry and divide into 4 parts.
• Roll each division into a thin rectangle.
• Stack the four rectangles on top of one another.
• Chill for twenty minutes.
• Divide the chilled pastry into two equal halves.
• Roll out the first pastry very thin.
• Fold it in half and place the folded edge in the middle of the 9X13 baking pan.
• Unfold and arrange the pastry with deep folds as in the photo.
• Let the dough go up the sides halfway, pastry will shrink during baking.
• Place in a preheated 400F oven for 14-18 minutes.
• Keep a watch, pastry burns easily.
• When the pastry is golden brown, remove pan from the oven.
• Immediately cut pastry into twelve squares.
• Divide the long side by 4 and the short side by 3.
• Wait a few minutes and very carefully remove the squares and set them aside in the same order as they were in the pan. These will go on the top later.
• Roll out the remaining dough and arrange it in the baking pan as before.
• Bake the second pastry sheet and set it aside. This will be the bottom of the krémes.
• Next make the custard layer.

• In a medium sized bowl beat the egg yolks and 1/2 cup sugar for 8 minutes
• In a separate bowl whisk together the flour, gelatine and the vanilla sugar.
• Gradually add the flour mixture to the beaten egg yolks and beat until smooth.
• Remove the vanilla pods from the vanilla infused milk.
• Gradually add the vanilla infused milk to the bowl with the eggs and the flour.
• Transfer custard to a medium sized pot.
• Attach the candy thermometer to the side of the pot so you can keep an eye on the temperature.
• Over medium heat and continually stirring heat the custard.
• Do not let custard heat beyond 80C [176F] for this recipe.
• When the custard reached 80C remove from heat.
• Stir in the butter and set aside.
• While the custard is cooling whip the egg whites.
• With clean beaters beat the egg whites until soft peaks form.
• Add the lemon juice and beat until almost stiff.
• Add 1/2 cup sugar and beat until very stiff and shiny.
• Very slowly and gradually, gently fold the custard into the stiff egg whites.
• Pour on top of the bottom pastry layer and place in the fridge.
• Make sure the pan is level on the shelf.
• When the gelatine is beginning to set, place the pastry squares on the top.
• Let the krémes chill thoroughly.
• Before serving generously sift icing sugar on the top.
• Cut the slices between the pastry squares.

Image

Its really important to roll the pastry thin, otherwise you will end up with thick crust that will over power the delicate custard.

Image

The pastry does shrink quite a bit so make sure you have it going up the sides of the tin.

Image

Image

IMG_0965

Place the pastry squares back into the tin the same way it came out.

IMG_0963

Once chilled dust generously with icing sugar and enjoy.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Hungarian custard kreme slice

  1. Jenny's Ramblings May 5, 2013 at 9:38 am Reply

    Custard slice is my all time favorite and so hard to buy one that tastes right. A must cook next visit to Adelaide

  2. Ant July 9, 2013 at 2:30 pm Reply

    Hi Krista, I was just wondering how the BOSCO was going I’m thinking about getting one and I’m interested to hear your thoughts. Thanks, Ant.

    • kristapriest July 9, 2013 at 2:37 pm Reply

      Hi Ant I have been really happy with my Bosco I love the dough hooks they work really well I’ve only used the mincer once to make beef mince, it was easy to use and very easy to clean out of the beaters I do prefer the one with the silicon coating in works much better, the grinder works great for grinding down nuts and spices. My only complaint is the the clear guard does knock off easily but over all I’am really happy with machine hope that helps 🙂

      • Ant July 9, 2013 at 3:00 pm

        Cheers. Thanks for the speedy reply 🙂

Leave a Reply

