MY 10km GREENBELT RUN & energy boosting BANANA smoothie

Image

Today my friend Tammy and I ran the Greenbelt 10km run. This was Tammys first ever 10km run, and she has only been running for our couple of weeks. I was very proud of her as she didn’t stop once, it was an awesome effort 🙂 Well done Tam. I have been running on off for most of my adult life and after some time away from it recently I have just got back into it. If you can run it is such a great thing (well any exercise is I just really enjoy running) exercise is one of natures, natural anti-drepresents as it releases all those feel good endorphins and once you get your breath back and have washed off the sweat you feel amazing.

Image

IMG_0985

When running, like any exercise it is really important to fuel your body before and after. For me being an early morning start I have trouble eating so I get my energy levels up with a energy boosting banana smoothie. Bananas are a really good choice for pre and post exercise as they are high in potassium which is necessary for good muscle function as well as maintaining a healthy balance of fluids and can also help prevent muscle cramps after exercise. Bananas are also high in carbohydrates which are great for keeping your energy levels high. I use Almond milk for my smoothies as cows milk doesn’t agree with me, but you can use any milk you like; cows, soy, rice etc.

MY BANANA SMOOTHIE RECIPE:

  • I large banana broken up into pieces
  • 2 Tsp of natural low fat yoghurt
  • 1Tsp honey
  • 1 Tsp psyllium husk or oat bran
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • pinch nutmeg
  1. Place all ingredients into a blender and process until smooth.

IMG_0982

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “MY 10km GREENBELT RUN & energy boosting BANANA smoothie

  1. Tim May 5, 2013 at 7:34 pm Reply

    Yum! But, I am a traditionalist! Go cow or go home! 😉

  2. tag heuer aquaracer calibre s May 6, 2013 at 7:29 pm Reply

    Having read this I believed it was really informative.
    I appreciate you finding the time and energy
    to put this information together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and leaving comments.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  3. […] writing my post about my 10km Greenbelt run and my energy boosting banana smoothie a friend who has been following my blog on Facebook sent me a message to share with me her […]

  4. Margrett Staino May 17, 2013 at 5:58 am Reply

    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, very good site!

Leave a Reply

