Lebanese Dinner Party: Part 2

Image

So as I said in my  post Lebanese dinner party part 1. I made Lamb Yiros for the main meal. A  simple but delicious meal, I got my butcher to tunnel bone a large leg of lamb for me, its best to  have it tunnel boned as the meat doesn’t fall apart when carving. I then marinated it overnight in a mixture of olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, oregano and thyme. A few hours before I wanted to serve I put the lamb on my spit which I had prepared with  hot coals and let cook away. Cooking time depends on the size of your meat and how you like it cooked. I use a meat thermometer as I find I get the best results this way ,I like to cook my lamb to 160ºF.

LAMB MARINADE:

  • 6-8 cloves chopped garlic
  • juice 3 lemons
  • 3 tsp dried oregano
  • 1-2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  1. Marinate meat overnight (I cooked my Lamb on a spit roast but you can also roast it in the oven, or have your lamb butterflied and cook it on your BBQ grill)

To go with my Lamb Yiros I made garlic sauce, baba ghanouj, hummus and tabouleh. You can either make these while your lamb is cooking or the day before. I like making them the day before (except the tabouleh) as the it gives time for the flavours to  develop and infuse.

IMG_0991

Hummus is a dip/spread made from chickpeas,  (hummus is actually the Arabic word for chickpeas). Hummus recipes can vary quite substantially,  the beauty of Middle Eastern cooking is that it is not an exact recipe and you can change it too suit your own tastes, so not a big fan of garlic you can just add less, like tahini paste then just add more ,add a little bit of this, take away a little bit of that….. you get the idea :-).

HUMMUS RECIPE:

  • 1 400g can chickpeas drained and rinsed
  • 2-3 gloves garlic chopped
  • 1-2 Tsp tahini paste
  • 1 tsp cumin plus extra to garnish
  • juice of one lemon
  • 100 ml olive plus extra to garnish
  1. Combine all ingredients into a food processor process until smooth nb: you may need to add extra olive oil depending on the consistency you want or alternatively you can add a little water
  2. put into a bowl/plate drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with cumin

IMG_0990

Baba Ghanouj is a dip/spread made from roasted eggplants blended with tahini, garlic, lemon juice, olive oil it can also have the addition of finely diced vegetables like onion and tomato. Much like the hummus recipe you can again play around with flavours to suit your tastes.

BABA GHANOUJ RECIPE:

  • 3 medium sized eggplants roasted in the oven until soft approximately 30 minutes, or alternatively turn them over an open flame until charred and soft
  • 6 cloves garlic chopped
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 4 tsp tahini
  • 3 tsp olive oil extra to garnish
  • small handful roughly chopped parsley extra to garnish
  • juice 1 lemon
  • 4-5 cherry tomatoes diced
  • cumin to garnish
  1. Peel flesh out of the eggplants discarding the skin and seeds, let sit in a colander for 10 minutes to let excess liquid strain away
  2. combine eggplant flesh and all other ingredients into a food processor and mix till smooth
  3. put in a bowl/plate drizzle with extra olive oil and garnish with chopped tomatoes, cumin and parsley

IMG_1003

Tabouleh is a salad made with parsley, bulgur/burghul (cracked wheat) tomatoes,mint, onion, lemon juice, olive oil. There are many variations and takes on this Middle Eastern salad, often the bulgur is substituted with quinoa or cous cous.

TABOULEH RECIPE;

  • 1/2 Cup burghul
  • 3 medium tomatoes
  • large bunch curly leaf parsley
  • 1 small red onion
  • 1/2 bunch mint leaves
  • juice 1 lemon
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • salt & pepper to taste
  1. Place burghul in a small bowl, finely chop tomatoes retaining their juice
  2. pour tomatoes and juice on top of burghul, cover and refridgerate for about 2 hours until burghul is nice and soft ( if your tomatoes aren’t very juicy add a little water)
  3. wash and finely chop herbs place in a large bowl
  4. finely chop red onion add to herbs with tomato and burghul mix
  5. gently combine lemon juice and olive oil to salad mixture then season to taste with salt and pepper

GARLIC SAUCE:

  • 300g Thick greek yoghurt ( I use my own homemade yoghurt)
  • 2-3 cloves grushed garlic
  • juice 1/2 lemon
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. combine all ingredients into a bowl chill till serving

Now I must apologise That I don’t have photos of my wraps or of the lamb. I got carried away talking and having a few wines and they just didn’t happen SORRY……..

So basically once the lamb is cooked I carve it into thin slices and put in on a platter, there is also a platter of freshly slices tomato, cucumber, red onion and shredded iceberg lettuce, as well as all the spreads, tabouleh and garlic sauce. I warm the lebanese bread in the oven, then its a matter of everyone building their own. That way they can have their yiros exactly the way they like it. I like mine with the LOT  🙂 and plenty of garlic sauce, YUMMO!!!!!!!.

Recipes for Lamb marinade, garlic sauce and Tabouleh were influenced and adapted from Pohs Kitchen.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Lebanese Dinner Party: Part 2

  1. Tim May 9, 2013 at 12:19 pm Reply

    I was wondering when I was going to see the next instalment; my taste buds have been a bit dry. Now they are watering again! Now you and Dave can compete for my affections on the best Baba! 😉

    Tim

  2. Jenny's Ramblings May 9, 2013 at 7:59 pm Reply

    My taste buds are drooling wish you were a bit closer so I could give you some choko’s and challenge you to turn them into something gourmet

Leave a Reply

