Roast pumpkin & ricotta cannelloni

IMG_1010

So I still have some of my lovely Japanese pumpkin left after making my Roast pumpkin and chickpea salad, and being that the weather is starting to cool down I thought a nice warming, filling and comforting cannelloni would be perfect for dinner. Now both my boys are not particularly big fans of pumpkin, so I was quite surprised how much they loved this dish, they didn’t even know they were eating pumpkin until I told them :-). They licked their plates clean and requested that I make this dish again,”Please Mum” so it’s a winner winner pumpkin dinner :-).

IMG_1011

I roasted the pumpkin as I find it gives a better flavour, roasting also tends to produce a drier, less moist pumpkin mash and a much better texture. Before roasting I tossed my pumpkin wedges in chilli flakes, (I’m a little crazy for chilli flakes at the moment, they are from my last years chilli harvest) olive oil, salt and pepper and threw in a few cloves of unpeeled garlic. But you could add any flavour you like, maybe a sprinkle of sumac or smoked paprika as they would both work beautifully.

.IMG_0996

RECIPE:

  • 1/2 Japanese pumpkin ( butternut would also work)
  • 4 cloves unpeeled garlic
  • 1/2 -1 tsp chilli flakes
  • 2 Tsp olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • 500g ricotta cheese (I used low fat)
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 Tsp shredded sage leaves
  • 1 Tsp chopped parsley
  • 1 pkt cannelloni shells
  • 1/4 cup grated mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup grated parmeson cheese

TOMATO SAUCE

  • 2 Tsp olive oil
  • 2 x 400g chopped tin tomatoes
  • 1 red chille seeded and finely chopped
  • 2 Tsp salted caper rinsed and  finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic finely chopped
  • 1-2 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tsp parsley roughly chopped
  • salt & pepper
  1. Pre heat oven to 180º
  2. chop pumpkin into large wedges leaving the skin on
  3. place pumpkin on baking tray with garlic, chilli flakes, olive oil, salt and pepper and toss to combine
  4. bake for 20-30 minutes or until pumpkin is cooked through, allow to cool
  5. scrape pumpkin flesh away from skin place into a bowl
  6. squeeze garlic from its skin and add to pumpkin
  7. using a hand held stick mixer, mix pumpkin and garlic till smooth
  8. add ricotta, parmesan, parsley, sage to pumpkin mix and  stir to combine breaking up the ricotta as you go ( I find a fork works well for this), add salt and pepper to taste
  9. Using a piping bag fill cannelloni shells with pumpkin mixture and place in a lightly greased baking dish

For the tomato sauce:

  • Heat oil in a heavy based pan, add capers, chilli and garlic stir until fragrant
  • add tin tomatoes bring to a boil then reduce heat add balsamic vinegar and simmer for 15 minutes or until slightly reduced and thickened
  • season with salt and pepper, then stir through parsley
  • once sauce is finished pour evenly over the cannelloni then sprinkle with mozzarella and parmesan cheese
  • bake in oven 30-40 minutes until pasta is cooked if top is browned before pasta has cooked cover with tin foil
  • allow to rest for 10 minutes then serve

IMG_1007

I garnished the top of my cannelloni with some sage leaves that I crisped up in butter in a small pan.

IMG_1009

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Roast pumpkin & ricotta cannelloni

  1. Tim May 11, 2013 at 8:14 pm Reply

    Lovely.

    I think the reason roasting is better is that it starts the caramelisation of the sugars and also reduces the water content, as you point out.

  2. […] not their favourite soup. But I still had some of my home grown pumpkin left over after making my Roast pumpkin & ricotta cannelloni and my Roast pumpkin & chickpea salad. It is most definitely soup weather here in Adelaide at […]

Leave a Reply

