Mothers Day and AMAZING Chocolate cake

IMG_1037

Today is Mothers Day, a day to say “Thanks mum for all that you do, I love you”. Its a bitter- sweet day for me today. Sweet because I have my gorgeous children and lovely husband with me, loving and spoiling me like they do. Thank you my beautiful family, you know how to make a mum feel special and loved  :-). Bitter because I can’t be with my mum today  “I love you mum”  as a mother now myself, of almost 14 years, I really do appreciate what you have done and continue to do for me. Mums are amazing.

So today being mums day I got to choose what I would like to do, and that was bake. Being Mothers day I thought we should celebrate it with cake, and a rich chocolatey cake it had to be, Its Mothers Day so I can have a piece of this guilt free (I can can’t I?).

IMG_1032

This cake was inspired and adapted from the Donna Hay cookbook Chocolate. The raspberries work really well with this rich cake because there tartness balances the sweetness of the chocolate perfectly. The cake is beautiful moist and each layer is then filled with a cream cheese chocolate icing topped with the raspberries. The top of the cake is iced in a rich decadent chocolate truffle icing. This cake is pure chocolate heaven and if you need a chocolate fix and feel the need for a little treat then spoil yourself with cake.

IMG_1036

RECIPE:

CAKE;

  • 200g unsalted butter softened
  • 440g caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 eggs
  • 300g plain flour sifted
  • 60g cocoa (I used Dutch) sifted
  • 21/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 250ml mlk
  1. Preheat oven to 160º
  2. place sugar, butter, sugar in bowl of electric mixer and beat for 10-12 minutes until light and creamy
  3. add eggs 1 at a time beating well between each
  4. fold through flour, cocoa, baking powder, salt, and milk
  5. spoon mixture into 2 lightly greased and lined 20cm round cake tins
  6. bake for 40-50 minutes or until skewer comes out clean
  7. let sit in tin for 10 minutes before turning on to cake rack to cool

IMG_1035

CHOCOLATE CREAM CHEESE FILLING;

  • 375g cream cheese softened
  • 1 cup pure icing sugar sifted
  • 1/4 cup cocoa ( I used Dutch) sifted
  • 500g fresh or frozen raspberries
  1. beat cream cheese in an electric mixer until smooth
  2. add icing sugar and cocoa and mix until combined
  3. with a serrated knife cut the 2 cakes in half so you have 4 pieces
  4. spread 1/3 of cream cheese icing onto the bottom layer then top with 1/3 of the raspberries
  5. place next layer of cake on and continue as per instructions until you have put the top cake layer on

IMG_1034

CHOCOLATE TRUFFLE ICING;

  • 200g dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1/4 cup cream
  1. Place chocolate and cream in a small pan over low heat stir until melted and smooth
  2. let cool for 0 minutes
  3. using a palette knife spread icing over cake
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Mothers Day and AMAZING Chocolate cake

  1. […] Mothers Day and AMAZING Chocolate cake (inprosciuttoofperfection.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] them to my cooking a lot this week like with my Raspberry & white chocolate muffins and my chocolate layer cake with raspberries. It’s not raspberry season here in Adelaide at the moment so I’m left to use frozen […]

  3. Jhuls August 4, 2013 at 8:19 pm Reply

    This really is an amazing cake!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

