Raspberry & white chocolate muffins

IMG_1060

So the Kids needed something for afternoon tea, and I had the urge to bake. It had to be with what I had in my pantry because I really didn’t feel like going to the shops, I felt like muffins and in particular raspberry muffins, especially since I had frozen raspberries in the freezer. I searched around on the internet looking for recipes for raspberry muffins, and unfortunately every recipe asked for a least one ingredient I didn’t have ( don’t you hate it when that happens).

IMG_1058

So I did a little bit of playing around with a basic recipe, added a little bit of this and took out a little bit of that and crossed my fingers that they would work.

Image

And Ta Daaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!! I ended up with a beautiful batch of muffins, that the kids and  hubby eagerly devoured for afternoon tea :-).

Image

IMG_1055

RECIPE:

  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 2tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup milk
  • 6 tsp melted butter
  • 150g white chocolate chopped into small chunks
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen raspberries

METHOD:

  1. Preheat oven to 180º
  2. In a large bowl combine sifted flour, baking powder, bicarbonate soda and salt
  3. in another bowl whisk eggs together with sugar until blended. Then whisk in butter and milk
  4. add egg mixture to flour mix and gently fold, add raspberries and chocolate and fold until just combined ( note its important not to over mix as this will make your muffins tough)
  5. spoon batter in prepared muffin cups , and bake until golden brown and a skewer comes out clean when inserted into centre of muffin, about 18-20 minutes
Tagged: , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Raspberry & white chocolate muffins

  1. Brittany May 18, 2013 at 12:49 pm Reply

    These look SO good, and I love the little box they are served in.

    • kristapriest May 18, 2013 at 12:53 pm Reply

      They are cute 🙂 there are so many gorgeous things out now for baking

  2. […] ← Raspberry & white chocolate muffins […]

  3. gillbla May 20, 2013 at 1:57 am Reply

    Hmm. Do you think these would work with Mango? They look really pretty but I don’t have any raspberries in and I have two mangos that need using.

    Ps. Thanks for visiting my blog I have just added you to my bloglovin feed so I can read more of yours x

    • kristapriest May 20, 2013 at 8:35 am Reply

      Hi Mango would work fine I think a range of fruits will like blueberries, strawberries and rhubarb, let me know how it goes
      🙂

  4. […] Raspberry & white chocolate muffins (inprosciuttoofperfection.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

