Apple & Raspberry Crumble Cake

Image

I’ve got a thing for Raspberries at the moment, I’m putting them in my smoothies, on my breakfast, mixed up in my yoghurt and I seem to be adding them to my cooking a lot this week like with my Raspberry & white chocolate muffins and my chocolate layer cake with raspberries. It’s not raspberry season here in Adelaide at the moment so I’m left to use frozen ones, but I think that they still work really well.

Image

I Made this crumble cake for dessert last night, and it was really nice, a moist cake topped with raspberries and apples and sprinkled with crumble topping. I served it with a dollop of cream but think it would be really nice with a warm egg custard, which I would of made except for the fact that I had run out of eggs :-(.

Image

Oh and a little confession: I had this yummy cake for breakfast this morning! Not my usual healthy breakfast, but it was just calling out to me and well it does have apple and raspberries in it so that’s healthy enough right!!!!!!!………:-).

Image

RECIPE:

  • 200g butter at room temperature
  • 155g caster sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 2 eggs at room temperature
  • 150g self-raising flour
  • 150g plain flour
  • 185ml (3/4 cup) milk
  • 1 Granny smith apple, peeled, cored, thickly sliced
  • 200g fresh or frozen raspberries

CRUMBLE TOPPING;

  • 75g plain flour
  • 50g chilled butter
  • 55g brown sugar  ( I would of liked to add a 1/4 cup chopped walnuts but then my oldest son would not of been able to eat it :-), I think I will be as happy as he will be when his braces finally come off)

METHOD:

  1. preheat oven to 180º, grease and line a 20cm springform pan and place on a baking tray
  2. using electric mixer beat butter, sugar and vanilla until pale and creamy
  3. add eggs 1 at a time, mixing well after each addition
  4. using a large metal spoon fold in combined  sifted flours and milk
  5. spoon into prepared pan, then add apple and raspberries on top
  6. to make crumble place flour and butter in a small bowl, and using fingertips rub until mixture resembles course bread crumbs. stir in sugar and chopped walnuts if using
  7. sprinkle topping over the apple and raspberries
  8. bake in oven for 1hour and 10 minutes or until skewer comes out clean when inserted into the centre of the cake
  9. once cooked let sit in tin for 10minutes before transferring to a wired rack to cool
  10. serve cake at room temperature
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Apple & Raspberry Crumble Cake

  1. […] Apple & Raspberry Crumble Cake (inprosciuttoofperfection.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Renae Armstrong May 19, 2013 at 9:13 pm Reply

    Yum!! Want some now Krissy

  3. Karen May 23, 2013 at 12:59 am Reply

    This sounds like a great recipe for this fall when I start picking apples from our orchard.

    • kristapriest May 23, 2013 at 8:48 am Reply

      It is a really nice cake will be even better with your fresh home grown apples 🙂

Leave a Reply

