Roast Pumpkin & green bean salad with balsamic dressing

Do you know what? I wasn’t going to write this post solely because I think my photo of the salad isn’t very good!!!!

And lets be honest it really isn’t that great ( if anyone wants to offer some photography advice I’m all ears). But, you know what the dish is great, it’s fresh, healthy and delicious. So I’m going to over look my photo because I want to share with you, this yummy salad.

IMG_1094

This is a really simple salad that you can prepare ahead of time. I made it as a side for our dinner the other night, and yesterday I mixed up the recipe a little and made it for my lunch. Instead of using parsley I used baby spinach and I added some macadamia nuts for a little bit of crunch.

I simply roasted some pumpkin, I used butternut for dinner and a Kent pumpkin for lunch and both worked perfectly.

IMG_1101

While the pumpkin was roasting which took about 20 minutes I top and tailed some green beans, and blanched them in boiling water.

IMG_1098

While the veggies were cooling I mixed together the balsamic dressing. This recipe makes quite a lot but I didn’t mind, because it’s really nice .It’s nice to have a salad dressing pre made for those times when you want something quick.

IMG_1099

RECIPE:

  • 800g pumpkin, peeled ,seeded and chopped into 3cm pieces
  • 2 Tsp olive oil
  • sea salt flakes
  • 350g green beans, trimmes
  • 1 bunch flat leaf continental parsley roughly chopped
  • 80ml or 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 125ml or 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 125 ml or 1/2 cup pouring cream

METHOD:

  • Preheat oven to 180ºC. Line baking tray with non-stick baking paper . Place the prepared pumpkin on the prepared tray. Drizzle with olive oil, season with salt and pepper. Roast for 20 minutes or until tender. Set aside to cool.
  • Meanwhile cook beans in a saucepan of salted boiling water for 1-3 minutes or until bright green. take off heat and plunge into cold water ( that way they will keep their bright green colour). Drain and set aside to cool.
  • To make dressing whisk vinegar, mustard and garlic in a bowl until smooth. Add oil in a thin, steady stream, whisking constantly, until well combined. Whisk in cream. Season with salt and pepper
  • combine the pumpkin, beans and parsley in a large bowl. Gently toss to combine. Transfer to a large platter and drizzle with dressing.

recipe sourced from http://www.taste.com.au ( I love this site it’s a great place to find some inspiration)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Roast Pumpkin & green bean salad with balsamic dressing

  1. Brittany May 31, 2013 at 2:53 am Reply

    This salad sounds SOOO GOOD! As for the photo (it’s really not bad!!) I find that when I get the natural light from outside it makes my pictures SO much better. Of course that will be hard in the evening, but if you can take your stuff outside!! You may feel silly, but the lighting is amazing!

    • kristapriest June 1, 2013 at 9:12 am Reply

      I will make more effort to go outside, because the photos I have taken out doors are definitely better. Thanks for the advice and visiting my blog, I’m really enjoying yours

Leave a Reply

