oven baked chocolate glazed donuts

IMG_1144

I was out shopping at one of my favourite stores last week, Gaganis Brothers, which is a wholesale warehouse open to the public. I love visiting this store and I always get a little carried away with my purchases. I went in to buy some preserving jars and stock up on my herbs and spices, and came out spending a few hundred dollars…….oops…….. Anyway the point to this story is that I brought myself a donut tray, plus a few other extra baking accessories πŸ™‚

IMG_1149

So armed with my new donut tray clearly it was going to be donuts for afternoon tea. I just love the fact that these donuts are baked and not deep fried, they are only half as bad for you right?

This is the first time I have made oven baked donuts and wow they are so easy, and took no time at all. I was going to make cinnamon donuts (which are my favourite) but my daughter Kiara really wanted chocolate ones, so cinnamon ones next time.

IMG_1146

RECIPE:

  • 5 Tsp unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch salt
  • 200g dark chocolate chopped
  • 1/2 cup cream

METHOD:

  1. preheat oven to 160ΒΊC
  2. lightly oil donut tray and set aside
  3. cream butter and sugar using an electric mixer
  4. add milk, egg and vanilla mix until combined ( mix will look curdled)
  5. add baking powder and salt
  6. add flour, mix until just combined
  7. fill a piping bag fitted with a large round nozzle, pipe in pan filling 1/2 way to the top ( if you don’t have a donut pan you can use a muffin tin)
  8. bake for 8-10 minutes
  9. place chocolate and cream into a saucepan over low heat stir until melted and smooth, set aside for 10 minutes to cool and thicken slightly
  10. using a spoon drizzle chocolate glaze over the still slightly warm donuts, set aside to set, then ENJOY

IMG_1147

Recipe adapted from http://www.bakerbettie.com

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “oven baked chocolate glazed donuts

  1. Shweta D'souza June 3, 2013 at 7:29 pm Reply

    They look so delicious!

    I posted an article on different types of cakes. Why not choose your favorite cake? πŸ˜‰
    http://bakistryblog.wordpress.com/2013/06/02/choose-your-favorite-cake

  2. EatwithNamie June 14, 2013 at 6:50 am Reply

    I am not a fan of donuts but your photo is so tempting that I had to click on it. Lovely photos and recipes! I will come here more often πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

