Raspberry and apple muffins

IMG_1161

I have been making muffins lately to put into the kids and hubbys lunch boxes for school and work , and they are really enjoying them. I particularly like the base recipe I have been using as it only has a little sugar, 70g which I think is great, the sweetness comes from the fruit that I put into the muffins.

IMG_1163

IMG_1158

I can put these muffins into the kids lunch boxes knowing that they are getting a yummy energy boosting snack, without all those horrible numbers and long words…..also mummy gets to have a clear conscience. I don’t know about you other mums and dads out there but I always suffer a terrible guilt trip when I allow my children to eat processed food. I am a big believer in fresh, local and natural ingriedents and of course homemade when I can.

My youngest son Alex said in the car the other night “can I take some food to share at Drama when its my birthday”, sure  says Daddy “what would you like to take” his reply was simple “something made by mum”. I loved it I’m trying to raise my children to understand and appreciate good food and where it comes from, and I think this simple statement said I’m doing something right.

IMG_1165

RECIPE:

  • 195g plain flour
  • 30g hazelnut meal
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 100g melted butter
  • 70g vanilla sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 125ml milk
  • 110g raspberries ( fresh or frozen)
  • 1 medium apple, peeled, cored and diced into small cubes

METHOD:

  1. Preheat oven to 190ºC
  2. combine sifted flour, hazelnut meal, baking powder, bicarbonate soda, salt and sugar into a bowl
  3. add fruit and stir to combine, make a well in the centre
  4. in a separate bowl whisk together egg, milk and butter
  5. pour milk mixture in the centre of flour mix and stir until just combined
  6. spoon into prepared muffin tins
  7. bake for 15-20 minutes or until skewer comes out clean when inserted in centre

IMG_1160

IMG_1159

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Raspberry and apple muffins

  1. Renae Armstrong June 5, 2013 at 6:00 pm Reply

    Yummo!! Yes please

Leave a Reply

