Mango and white chocolate muffins

IMG_1237

I mentioned in my post yesterday, chocolate slice that I also made mango and white chocolate muffins, so I thought I should give you the recipe as they are really yummy 🙂

The white chocolate and mango combination works really well together, and it’s also not a combination I see around regularly.

IMG_1241

Fresh mango would be ideal for this recipe, but its not mango season here at the moment so I used frozen which worked perfectly. I opted for frozen mango over tin mango as the tin mango has lots of added sugar whereas the frozen is just snap-frozen mango flesh.

I have also added quinoa to this recipe and I really like the texture it imparts. When you bite into the muffin you get a taste of soft fruit, sweet from the white chocolate and  little flakes of quinoa, it really is very yummy ( even if I do say so myself :-).

RECIPE:

  • 195g plain flour
  • 30g quinoa
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 100g melted butter
  • 70g caster sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 125ml butter milk
  • 110g mango flesh ( I used frozen)
  • 100g white chocolate, chopped into chunks

 

METHOD:

  1. Preheat oven to 190ºC
  2. Combine sifted flour, quinoa, baking powder, bicarbonate soda, salt and sugar in a bowl
  3. Add mango and chocolate, stir to combine, make a well in the centre
  4. in a separate bowl whisk together egg, butter milk and butter
  5. pour milk mixture in the centre of the flour mix and stir until just combined
  6. spoon into your  prepared muffin tins
  7. bake for 15-50 minutes or until skewer comes out clean when inserted in centre

IMG_1239

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Mango and white chocolate muffins

  1. jeaninjackson June 15, 2013 at 8:55 pm Reply

    You are very good at what you do.

  2. krumkaker June 15, 2013 at 10:04 pm Reply

    Oooh, interesting flavour combinations, and interesting texture as well with the quinoa. Definitely a recipe to try. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

