Lemon and raspberry madeleines

IMG_1255

The other night I was channel surfing and I came across this great cooking show, Little Paris Kitchen.  In this show Rachel Khoo cooks classic but simple French dishes in her tiny kitchen. On this particular episode  Rachel was making Madeleines.

IMG_1250

I have seen madeleines on many occasions at many different cafes and coffee shops but I have to be honest they never really appealed to me. Well I must say that all changed after watching Rachel cook them, hers looked delicious especially with the addition of a raspberry in each one.

IMG_1249

So off to the shops I headed the next day and brought myself a madeleine tin. These dainty shell shaped cakes are so easy to make and are delicious, so soft and light in texture. I love the zestyness of the lemon in them and the delicious raspberry when you get to the middle. I am usually very controlled when I eat cake and sweets and just have a small serve, but with these  dainty little gems I just couldn’t stop at one, my only regret is that it has taken me so many years to make these sweet little cakes.

IMG_1251

RECIPE:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • zest 1 lemon, finely grated
  • 3/4 cup plain flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 60g unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 12 raspberries
  • icing sugar, to dust

METHOD:

  1. Preheat oven to 200ºC and grease a madeleine tin
  2. Place eggs, sugar, lemon zest into a bowl using electric mixer, mix until pale, thick and doubled in volume
  3. Gently fold in flour, baking powder and butter using a metal spoon
  4. Place tablespoons of mixture into prepared madeleine moulds, pressing a raspberry into the centre
  5. Bake in oven 10-15 minutes or until lightly golden and cake springs back when pushed in centre
  6. Cool slightly before removing from moulds, cool on wire rack and lightly dust with icing sugar
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Lemon and raspberry madeleines

  1. Renae Armstrong June 20, 2013 at 1:15 pm Reply

    They were amazing!! Yum yum 🙂

  2. Natalie Glock June 20, 2013 at 9:26 pm Reply

    Thank you for referencing my blog, really appreciate it! Natalie

  3. krumkaker June 24, 2013 at 3:29 am Reply

    Oh, those madeleines are gorgeous! And isn’t Rachel Khoo’s cooking a pleasure to watch? I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award (if you choose to accept). Here is the link to what that is! http://krumkaker.wordpress.com/2013/06/23/liebster-awards/
    I know not all bloggers like awards, so if that’s you: please do not  feel obliged in any way to do anything about being nominated – just enjoy the appreciation.

Leave a Reply

