Rainbow layered birthday cake

IMG_1265

This week it was my beautiful daughter Kiara’s 12th birthday, my how time flies. Every year on my kids birthdays I always think back to the day that they were born, I regularly look at the time and think now I was going to the hospital, or now I was in heavy labour, or now I was holding you for the very first time.

That very first time, the moment you never forgot, meeting your baby seeing their tiny little hands, touching their soft skin, breathing in their sweet smell, you fall in love in an instant a love that lasts forever that unconditional love where you will do anything to protect them. I love being a mother hands down it’s the greatest thing I have ever done. Now there are tough days, sometimes I feel like I’m in a boat without any paddles, but with all the difficulties and hard decisions that come along with motherhood it’s all worth it. They are a joy and as I said before my greatest accomplishment.

IMG_1263

So cake, what birthday would be complete without a birthday cake. This year for Kiara I went for bright fun colours in a rainbow layered cake. I have seen a few of these cakes floating around on the internet and face book and thought one would be perfect for Kiara’s birthday, those bright colours certainly match her bright happy personality…

IMG_1262

  • To make cake I just used my favourite trusted butter cake recipe (handed down to me from my mum) and adding food colouring for each of the layers.
  • The icing is a vanilla cream cheese icing I used cream cheese icing as it’s Kiaras favourite, butter cream would also been fine
  • To decorate I brought Satin Ice coloured fondant, I have tried a few different brands of fondant and Satin Ice is my favourite it is so easy to work with and comes in a great range of colours. Using a small flower cutter I cut out flowers then using a small plain nozzle piping tip I pushed a hole through the centre of each flower, then used my decorating tool to add definition to the flowers.
  • I randomly Β placed onto cake leaving the heart shapes plain. I then added couhons to the centre of each flower and around the heart to define.

IMG_1264

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Rainbow layered birthday cake

  1. karen douglas June 24, 2013 at 6:58 am Reply

    Beautiful words and a beautiful cake..Good work..

  2. kristapriest June 24, 2013 at 12:43 pm Reply

    Thank you Karen

  3. stephnelson25 June 24, 2013 at 2:55 pm Reply

    Beautiful cake.

  4. sam June 24, 2013 at 5:46 pm Reply

    The cake looks awesome! What a great idea to put the fondant flowers all around the outside!

  5. Cakes Brighton July 2, 2013 at 2:36 am Reply

    Amazing πŸ™‚ well done Krista πŸ™‚ xx

    • kristapriest July 2, 2013 at 1:54 pm Reply

      Thank you so much and thanks for checking out my blog πŸ™‚

  6. Jhuls August 4, 2013 at 8:17 pm Reply

    The most beautiful rainbow cake I have ever seen!! Very creative. πŸ™‚

  7. […] Rainbow layered birthday cake […]

Leave a Reply

