Caramel mud cupcakes and exciting news

IMG_1256

I am going to start this post by saying WooHoo!!!!!!!! I have enrolled into a patisserie cert III course at tafe starting on the 22nd of July. I am both excited and nervous ( bloody scared actually) about this as I have been a full time mum now for the past fourteen years, so very much a big step out of my comfort zone………But the time has come for me to take the next step in this journey we call life.

It was a no brainer really in deciding what I was going to do, as I adore food, cooking and creating in the kitchen. In my past life (pre-children) I was an Office Administrator which was a good job but not really a passion, and having such a supportive and encouraging  husband I now have the opportunity to do something I love, and well who knows maybe one day I might own my coffee shop/patisserie :-).

IMG_1257

So in celebration of my enrolment and the beginning of a new journey I am sharing with you one of my favourite cupcakes. These little babies are delicious and the caramel cream cheese icing YUM!, let me just say I could easily sit down to a bowl of this icing all on its own.

IMG_1261

RECIPE:

CARAMEL MUD CAKE:

  • 125g butter, chopped
  • 100g white chocolate, roughly chopped
  • 2/3 cup (150g) firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup (90g) golden syrup
  • 2/3 cup (160ml) milk
  • 1 cup (150g) plain flour
  • 1/3 cup (50g) self-raising-flour
  • 1 egg

METHOD:

  1. preheat oven to 170ºC
  2. combine butter, chocolate, sugar, golden syrup and milk in a small saucepan, stir over low heat until smooth and melted
  3. transfer to a medium bowl and allow to cool for 15 minutes
  4. whisk sifted flours into chocolate mixture, then egg
  5. divide mixture into cupcake papers and bake 30-40 minutes, cool on a wire rack

CARAMEL CREAM CHEESE ICING:

  • 1kg cream cheese, softened
  • 250g unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1tsp vanilla essence
  • 100g unsalted butter
  • 2 Tsp cream
  • 2 cups icing sugar
  1. in a medium saucepan combine sugar, water and vanilla, cook over high heat until sugar is dissolved
  2. reduce heat and cook for about 9 minutes or until a medium dark amber caramel forms
  3. immediately stir in butter and cream
  4. transfer caramel to mixer with whisk attachement fitted, whisk at low speed until caramel cools slightly, and comes together
  5. with machine on beat in cream cheese adding one cube at a time, beating well between each addition
  6. add sifted icing sugar and beat to combine
  7. refrigerate mix until to firm enough to pipe or spread.

IMG_1259

caramel icing recipe adapted from http://www.foodandwine.com

caramel mud cake recipe from cupcakes, cheesecakes, cookies recipe book ( Australian Women’s Weekly)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Caramel mud cupcakes and exciting news

  1. Tim June 26, 2013 at 3:30 pm Reply

    Great. Now I am going to be hungry until dinner! These look unbelievably delicious. Better bring some with you in two weeks time.

  2. Jenny's Ramblings June 26, 2013 at 3:45 pm Reply

    So excited for you and looking forward to dining in your coffee shop. The cupcakes look delicious and I so want one right now with my coffee

  3. ~ Phuong ~ June 28, 2013 at 12:20 am Reply

    These cupcakes look so yummy I can’t wait to try. Love the wrapping, I’ve always wanted ones looking pretty as these.

    • kristapriest June 28, 2013 at 9:10 am Reply

      Thanks :-)the wrappers are gorgeous they make the cakes look so pretty

  4. More Food, Please June 28, 2013 at 10:50 am Reply

    These cupcakes look so delicious, especially with the caramel cream cheese icing! On top of that, the cupcake design looks beautiful. I’d definitely want to try out your coffee shop/patisserie in the future!

Leave a Reply

