Mascarpone and cinnamon ice-cream

IMG_1312

I had a big to do list today and as clock is moving towards school pick-up time, my list has been barely touched. I started off with great intentions, first thing this morning I headed off for a massage and boy was it good. Maybe a little too good I came home all relaxed and really very unenthused to start attacking my list well!!!! there is always tomorrow :-).

IMG_1314

So while talking about things that make you feel good this Mascarpone and cinnamon ice-cream is one of them, smooth, rich and creamy even now in winter this ice-cream is a pure pleasure to eat. Delicious all on its own which is how I had it yesterday for my lunch, yeah  I know not too healthy. But I rationalised this by all the hard work I did afterwards in the garden, busily pruning back my fruit trees (also why I needed that massage today I’m just a wee bit sore) that would of definitely had to burn of a few calories (well thats what I’m telling myself anyway :- ).This ice-cream also works amazingly as an accompaniment to poached fruit. I made some delicious poached pears in red wine served with the mascarpone and cinnamon ice-cream, which we had for dessert, post coming soon, I have also served this ice-cream with poached quince and a plum tart.

IMG_1315

IMG_1316

IMG_1317

RECIPE;

  • 11/2 cups sugar
  • 1/3/4 cup water
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 450g mascarpone cheese
  • 1/2 cup cream

METHOD:

  1. place sugar and water into a saucepan over low heat, stir until sugar has dissolved
  2. simmer for 3 minutes, remove from heat and allow syrup to cool
  3. mix syrup with mascarpone and cream
  4. place and an ice-cream machine and churn as per machine instructions.

I like to refrigerate my mix for several hours or overnight before churning.

recipe is from the Marie Claire cook book ‘flavours’

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Mascarpone and cinnamon ice-cream

  1. xwaysseries July 1, 2013 at 6:33 pm Reply

    Deliscious!

    • kristapriest July 1, 2013 at 9:36 pm Reply

      Thanks it really is delicious ( even if I do say so myself lol)

  2. More Food, Please July 2, 2013 at 2:34 am Reply

    Yummy! I like the combination of marscarpone and cinnamon!

    • kristapriest July 2, 2013 at 1:54 pm Reply

      I know it’s a great flavour combination isn’t 🙂

  3. Geni - Sweet and Crumby July 2, 2013 at 7:11 am Reply

    What a great combination of flavors in an ice cream. This is brilliant!

  4. […] So as promised here is the poached pears in red wine recipe that I mentioned in my post Mascarpone and cinnamon ice-cream. […]

Leave a Reply

