Avocado Ice-cream

IMG_1299

I love making ice-cream I know not really a winter dessert. But  ice-cream being an amazing dessert all on its own, also makes for the perfect accompaniment to so many desserts, even in the middle of winter.

I came across this recipe in my latest edition of delicious magazine, and always wanting to try new and interesting flavours in my ice-cream making I knew I had to make this avocado ice-cream. I have heard of this flavoured ice-cream before but have never tried it until now, and just let me say it does not disappoint :-). The texture of the avocado is perfect for ice-cream and put together with the cream and lime juice AMAZING!!!!.

IMG_1300

RECIPE:

  • flesh of 4 avocados
  • juice of 2 limes
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 300ml thickened cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

method;

  1. blitz avocado and lime juice in a food processor until a smooth puree
  2. beat sugarand cream with electric beater to combine
  3. add avocado and vanilla, whisk until well combined
  4. place into ice-cream machine and churn as per machine instructions

nb (I like to refrigerate my mix for several hours or overnight before churning in the ice-cream machine)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Avocado Ice-cream

  1. gillbla July 9, 2013 at 5:14 am Reply

    Up until last week I would have looked at this and thought “blegh”. Howoever, I have now been educated in the amazing ways of mustard icecream and now I want to try this!

Leave a Reply

