Chilli Chocolate Brownies

IMG_1295What is a Brownie, a Cake?, a Slice?, a Biscuit?

Well after a little research I discovered that the Brownie is a cross between a cake and a biscuit.

One of and the most popular myths to the creation of the Brownie is that a housewife did not have baking powder and improvised with this new treat. It was said that she was baking for guests and decided to serve these flattened cakes to them. This became our beloved treat of today.

Brownie [ˈbraʊnɪ

a square piece of dense, chewy cake, usu. chocolate with nuts.

IMG_1293

If you read my post white chocolate and macadamia nut brownies I commented on how I don’t make Brownies often enough, well that has changed and playing around a little I came up with this recipe for Chilli Chocolate Brownies. I warmed these brownies up and served them for dessert with my Avocado ice-cream, the chilled creaminess of the avocado ice-cream work amazingly with hit of the chilli in these brownies.

I think that Chilli and chocolate are an amazing match, I love when you bite into a chilli/chocolate combination, at first you get that sweet, smooth creamy chocolate texture and then just as you are savouring this your tastes buds jump to attention with the explosion of the firey chilli ‘awesome’ :-). Now don’t be afraid you can control how much chilli hit you get by the amount and type added, so you can make to suit. So if you haven’t tried this go on give it a go its amazing.

Chilli-chocolate lovers swear it is the ultimate gastronomic experience! Quote from World of Chillies

IMG_1296

IMG_1294

RECIPE;

  • 200g dark chocolate, chopped
  • 2 Tsp water
  • 100g buter, chopped
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 2 eggs lightly beaten
  • 1/3 cup  plain flour, sifted
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp chilli powder (add more or less depending on your taste)
  • 100g dark chill chocolate, roughly chopped ( I used a great brand from my local mexican supply shop called black widow but you can use any brand)

NB: you can add both chocolate ingredients or leave one out. You can use plain dark chocolate if you like with chilli powder or hold back with the chilli powder and just use chilli chocolate.

METHOD;

  1. preheat oven to 160º
  2. place butter and chocolate into a saucepan over low heat and stir until smooth
  3. allow to cool slightly
  4. place sugar, eggs, cocoa, flour and baking  powder in a bowl
  5. add chocolate mixture, mix till combined
  6. pour mixture into a greased and lined square baking tin
  7. bake for 30-35 minutes, or until set
  8. cool in tin
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Chilli Chocolate Brownies

  1. More Food, Please July 8, 2013 at 5:14 pm Reply

    Yummy! I love brownies and I also love the combination of spicy and sweet chocolate. Will give this recipe a try for sure 😀

    • kristapriest July 8, 2013 at 9:06 pm Reply

      Thanks I really love the chilli chocolate combination 🙂 works so well

  2. jayden July 16, 2013 at 2:44 am Reply

    Great blog post. Its useful information.
    jayden http://8tracks.com/beannickel51

  3. Serena July 16, 2013 at 8:22 pm Reply

    I love chocolate with chilli!!! I will try it!

  4. Sarah Cuthbert July 23, 2013 at 8:34 pm Reply

    Hi, I’m half way through making this but have realised eggs arent listed in the ingredients but are listed in the method… how many do we use?? I’m going with 2 so wish me luck!

    • kristapriest July 23, 2013 at 8:55 pm Reply

      Hi Sarah,

      thanks for letting me know, I hope you aren’t to far gone, its actually 4 eggs. I will edit it now. Let me know how they come out.

      Cheers,

      Krissy

  5. Sarah Cuthbert July 24, 2013 at 12:47 am Reply

    Hi Krissy, the flavour was nice but it didnt hold together – all crumbled apart, will have to squeeze it into a big ball and have it with icecream lol!

Leave a Reply

