PERSIMMONS = Smoothie time

Image

My very good friend recently turned up to my house with three very large buckets of freshly picked persimmons. Yum!! my mind immediately starts ticking over, persimmon recipes what can I make with these little gems. Persimmons are such a gorgeous exotic fruit, with their sweet jelly like middle, they are also rich in vitamins, minerals and anti-oxidents. They are also low in calories and a rich source of dietary fibre. There are quite a few things you can make with them and trust me there will be more persimmon blogs to follow :-).

Image

One of the first things I thought of to make was fruit smoothies. Smoothies are very popular in my house and the kids often have one for afternoon tea, they are wholesome, healthy and filling perfect for those hungry bellies. I made up two different fruit combinations the first being persimmon, banana and cinnamon made on almond milk , the other persimmon orange and coconut which was a much lighter combination and my favourite of the two.

Image

PERSIMMON, BANANA & CINNAMON

  • Pulp of 3-4 persimmons
  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 2 tablespoons honey ( you can add more or less depending how sweet you want it)
  • a pinch cinnamon
  • handfull crushed ice (optional)
  1. Place all ingredients into a blender and process until smooth

PERSIMMON, ORANGE & COCONUT

  • pulp of 3-4 Persimmon
  • juice 1 orange
  • 125ml coconut milk
  • 1 tablespoon honey ( you can add more or less depending on how sweet you want it)
  • pinch cardamon
  • handfull crushed ice (optional)
  1. Place all ingredients in blender and process until smooth.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment